ECU Paraprofessional Conference – Register!

April 4, 2014

Registration is now open for the conference.


Paraprofessional Conference at ECU – Joyner Library

February 20, 2014

The Tenth incarnation of the Paraprofessional Conference hosted by the Joyner Library Support Staff Assembly at East Carolina University (Greenville, NC) is being held on Friday, May 16, 2014

At this time, we would like to extend a call for proposals.  The conference is a day long series of sessions and workshops geared towards library paraprofessional staff.  This year’s theme is “X Marks the Spot:  The Hunt for Positive Change in Libraries.”

For those interested in presenting a proposal should consider the following:

  • Session Length:  1 hour
  • Topic:  Adherence to the theme is not mandatory and anyone interested in leading a session are encouraged to apply.  Sessions should be relevant to library paraprofessionals serving in academic, public, or special libraries in either public or technical services.  Thus a wide range of topics are welcome.
  • Cost:  Please include any costs associated with your presentation such as travel, materials, or honorarium.  Lunch is provided to all presenters.
  • Other Requirements:  If you have any special requirements related to technology or presentation materials, please include them with your proposal.
  • Deadline:  March 14, 2014.

Questions and submissions should be directed to either Arthur Carlson at or (252) 328-6838 or Joe Rolison at or (252) 328-2654.

NCLA: New Look

February 4, 2014

Just a quick FYI…

NCLA has recently launched a new logo and web design. Check it out!

New NCLA Logo

Meet and Greet ! Please join us !

January 22, 2014

Meet & Greet scheduled for Greenville, NC. Make plans to attend!

When: February 19, 2014

Where: Peasant’s Pub

Address: 114 E 5th Street, Greenville

Time: 6pm – 8pm

Please plan to attend!

We are looking forward to meeting and greeting everyone!

“NC Outstanding Library Paraprofessionals”

October 21, 2013

On Thursday, October 17, 2013 at the NCLA 60th Biennial Conference, NCLPA announced with great honor the first ever “North Carolina Outstanding Library Paraprofessionals” listing. Each of the 60 individuals recognized was awarded a certificate and a commemorative booklet listing events of the luncheon.

NCLPA is proud to present and offer Congratulations to the 60 North Carolina Outstanding Library Paraprofessionals:

Name Library System
Sara Addison-Kristel High Point Public Library
MK Amos Jackson Library, UNC-G
Jimmeka Anderson ImaginOn, Charlotte Mecklenburg
Mary Atkinson Dunn Public Library
Amy Barr Graham Public Library
Donna Beaver Zebulon Community Library
Megan Bowers High Point Public Library
Tracie Brewer Mary Duncan Public Library
Keneitha Bryson Haywood County Public Library
Wendy Burgess May Memorial Library
Veronica Cancel Cumberland County Public Library
Karin Clark Mebane Public Library
Latreca Collins Wilkes County Public Library
Jennifer Dale Forsyth County Public Library
Angie Donaldson Harnett County Public Library
Kelly Dukes Cumberland County Public Library
Stephanie Edwards Cumberland County Public Library
Mark Ennis Harnett County Public Library
Wardelia Enoch Alamance County Public Libraries
Becky Fabbri May Memorial Library
Susan Farr Jackson Library, UNC-G
Martha Ferguson Moore County Library
Jackie Frye Harnett County Public Library
Kathy Garrison May Memorial Library
Janet Goretti Independence Regional Library
Antuan Hawkins Neuse Regional Library
Nydia Johnson Cumberland County Public Library
Sue Johnson Harnett County Public Library
Amy Jones Ashe County Public Library
Mary Kennery Durham Tech Comm College Library
Tamara Kraus Hickory Public Library
April Lankford Graham Public Library
Ellie Lemmon Angier Public Library
Erin Loveland Mebane Public Library
Emily Mann Jackson Library, UNC-G
Geraldine McNamara High Point Public Library
Deborah Merritt Zebulon Community Library
Julianne Moore Iredell County Public Library
Chris Morgan Matthews Branch Library
Lois Mouw Cumberland County Public Library
Marna Napoleon Ashe County Public Library
Dawn Neumann High Point Public Library
Robina Norman Hazel W. Guilford Memorial Library
George Peterson Cornelius Branch Library
Arlene Phillips Randolph Community College Library
Cheryl Proctor Western Watauga Branch Library
Heather Seibert Racine Joyner Library, ECU
Kathryn D. Roach Zebulon Community Library
Tamara Scanlon Watauga County Library
Ginger Sessoms Cumberland County Public Library
Joseph Sheppard New Hanover County Public Library
Kim Sirois Harnett County Public Library
Harold Sledge Cumberland County Public Library
Johnnie Swindell Joyner Library, ECU
Michelle Tarpley High Point Public Library
Grace Wallace North Carolina Wesleyan College
Teresa Weaver Henderson County Public Libraries
Leann West Cumberland County East Region Library
Penny Westgard High Point Public Library
Cathy Wright May Memorial Library


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.